DePaul University College of LAS > Centers & Institutes > Center for Latino Research > Experts

Experts

DePaul University houses a wide range of academic centers and institutes that support faculty experts, practical research, innovative educational programming and community outreach initiatives. Like the university where they teach, DePaul faculty members are innovative, respected and well-connected to the world at large.To view a complete listing of DePaul experts, please click on Media Guide to the Experts.
 
Faculty Experts
 
Marixsa Alicea, Dean
School for New Learning            

Email: malicea@depaul.edu
Immigration issues for Mexicans, Puerto Ricans and Cubans, women and drug use, adult education, patterns within Latino communities, race and ethnicity, and ethnic relations.
Luisela Alvaray
Assistant Professor
College of Communication
Email: lalvaray@depaul.edu
Latin American cinema, transnational cinemas, cinema and media studies, cultural studies, history of audiovisual media, and cultural studies.
Maria Beltran-Vocal
Professor
Modern Languages

Email: mbeltra1@depaul.edu
Mexican literature, Chicano literature, Hispanic women writers, and Spanish and Spanish-American literature.
Glen Carman
Associate Professor, Modern Languages
Email: gcarman@depaul.edu
Medieval and Renaissance literature, Cervantes, classical studies, language pedagogy issues, and Spanish literature and civilization.
Paul Cheselka
Associate Professor, Modern Languages
Email: pcheselk@depaul.edu
Spanish and Spanish-American literature, Hispanic poetry, modernism, avant-garde movements, Borges, and peninsular generations of 1898 and 1927.
Delia Cosentino
Associate Professor
History of Art & Architecture

Email: dcosent1@depaul.edu
Latin American art, particularly Mexican and Virgin de Guadalupe art; Franciscan art and codices.
David Akbar Gilliam
Assistant Professor, Modern Languages
Email: dgilliam@depaul.edu
African diaspora in Latin American literature, Afro-Hispanic narrative, Latin American short story, and Islamic influence in Don Quixote.
Juana Goergen
Associate Professor
Modern Languages

Email: jgoergen@depaul.edu
Colonial and post-colonial tensions in Latin America, Spanish-American literature and culture, Caribbean literature, literary theory, and multicultural studies.
Luis Larrea
Executive-in-Residence
College of Commerce

Email: llarrea@depaul.edu
International marketing, and business and global econo
Elizabeth C. Martinez
Director, Center for Latino Research
Email: emarti71@depaul.edu
Hispanic heritage history, US Latino Studies, Latino media, Mexican culture and national affairs, Central American literature and indigenous populations, Mexican and Latin American literature, and US Latino literature.
Flix Masud-Piloto
Professor, History
Email: fmasud@depaul.edu
Cuban migration to the U.S., Cuban revolution, revolutions in Latin America, particularly social revolutions, and Latino experience in America by group (Cuban,  Mexican, and Puerto Rican).
Elizabeth Millan
Professor, Philosophy
Email: emillanz@depaul.edu
Latin American aesthetics, The Problem of Identity in Latin American Thought, Nation-building in the Americas.
Bernadette Sanchez
Associate Professor, Psychology 
Email: bsanchez@depaul.edu
Youth mentoring, Latino youth and families, Latino immigrants, mental health needs, barriers to accessing services, and documentation issues.
Ana Schaposchnik
Assistant Professor 
History

Email: aschapos@depaul.edu
Latin American history, particularly colonial period, 17th-century history of the Inquisition in Latin America, history of Jews in colonial Latin America.
Jos Soltero
Associate Professor, Sociology 
Email: jsoltero@depaul.edu
Latin American peasant revolts, including events in Chiapas, Mexico.
Sonia Soltero
Associate Professor, School of Education 
Email: ssoltero@depaul.edu
Bilingual-bicultural education, dual language and bi-literacy.
Rose Spalding
Professor, Political Science
Email: sspaldin@depaul.edu
Central America and Mexico politics, elections, economic development, social movements, trade debates, women in politics and Nicaraguan women.
Lourdes Torres
Vincent de Paul Professor 
Latin American & Latino Studies
Email: ltorres@depaul.edu
Latina language and literature, Latina Queer studies, sociolinguistics, and Spanish in the United States.