Department of English

Faculty

Lucy Rinehart
Associate Professor and Chair
Ph.D., Columbia University
Early American literature; ante-bellum literature; American theater and drama
lrinehar@depaul.edu

Theodore G. Anton
Professor and Acting Director, Graduate Program in Writing and Publishing
M.A., M.F.A., University of Iowa
Literary nonfiction; magazine and science writing
tanton@depaul.edu

Anne Clark Bartlett
Professor
Ph.D., University of Iowa
Middle Ages; medieval feminist studies; contemporary literature
abartlet@depaul.edu

Barrie Jean Borich
Assistant Professor and Threshold Faculty Advisor
Creative nonfiction, place and urbanity; literary journals and future of the book
bborich@depaul.edu

Rebecca Cameron
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Toronto
Modern British Literature; modern drama; women's writing
rcameron@depaul.edu

Caryn Chaden
Associate Professor and Associate Vice President
Ph.D., University of Virginia
Eighteenth-century British literature; the novel; women’s poetry
cchaden@depaul.edu

June Chung
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles
Nineteenth- and twentieth-century British and American literature
jchung10@depaul.edu

Jennifer Conary
Assistant Professor and Director, Undergraduate Studies
Ph.D., University of Southern California
Victorian literature and culture; gender studies
jconary1@depaul.edu

Marcy Dinius
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Northwestern University 
Pre-Civil War American literature and culture; African-American literature; the history of print culture
mdinius@depaul.edu

Andrew Ewell
Visiting Assistant Professor
M.F.A., Boston University
Creative writing, fiction
wewell@depaul.edu

William Fahrenbach
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Toronto
Medieval British literature; Middle English drama and poetry
bfahrenb@depaul.edu

Jim Fairhall
Associate Professor
Ph.D., State University of New York at Stony Brook
Irish studies; modern British literature
jfairhal@depaul.edu

Amina Gautier
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Creative writing; fiction; American literature; African American literature
agautier@depaul.edu

Carolyn Goffman
Instructor and Internship Coordinator for Teaching English inTwo-Year Colleges
Ph.D., Ball State University
Postcolonial theory; cultural studies; world literature
cgoffman@depaul.edu

Chris Green
Instructor and Coordinator of Internships in Writing and Publishing
M.F.A., Bennington College
Contemporary poetry; creative writing; publishing 
cgreen1@depaul.edu

Jonathan Gross
Professor
Ph.D., Columbia University
British Romantic poetry and Regency politics; world literature
jgross@depaul.edu

Miles Harvey
Assistant Professor
M.F.A., University of Michigan
Literary nonfiction; fiction
mharvey7@depaul.edu

Megan Heffernan
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Chicago
Early modern literature; poetry and poetics; material and cultural histories of the book
mheffer2@depaul.edu

Janet L. Hickey
Assistant Director of Graduate Programs
M.A., DePaul University
Composition
jhicke11@depaul.edu

Hugh J. Ingrasci
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Michigan
Nineteenth- and twentieth-century American literature
hingrasc@depaul.edu

Rebecca Johns Trissler
Assistant Professor
M.F.A., Univeristy of Iowa
Fiction writing; magazine writing; contemporary literature; nonfiction writing
rjohnstr@depaul.edu

Bill Johnson González
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Harvard University
Comparative and ethnic literatures; American and Latin American fiction
bjohns58@depaul.edu

Richard Jones
Professor
M.A., University of Virginia; M.F.A., Vermont College
Creative writing; poetry
rjones1@depaul.edu

Lesley Kordecki
Professor
Ph.D., University of Toronto
Medieval British literature, literary theory
lkordeck@depaul.edu

Paula McQuade
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Chicago
Renaissance literature; Shakespeare; gender studies
pmcquade@depaul.edu

Robert Meyer
Associate Professor and TEACH Program Advisor for English
Ph.D., Florida State University
History and structure of English, multilingual/multicultural education
rmeyer2@depaul.edu

Michele Morano
Associate Professor
M.F.A., Ph.D., University of Iowa
Creative writing; non-fiction
mmorano@depaul.edu

Jeremy P. Mulderig
Associate Professor
Ph.D., The Ohio State University
Rhetorical theory and history; stylistics, gay and lesbian studies
gmulderi@depaul.edu

James H. Murphy
Professor
Ph.D., University College Dublin
Nineteenth- and twentieth-century Irish literature
jmurphy5@depaul.edu

Hannah Pittard
Visiting Assistant Professor
M.F.A., University of Virginia
Creative writing; fiction; publishing
hpittard@depaul.edu

Kathleen Rooney
Visiting Assistant Professor
M.F.A., Emerson College
Creative writing; poetry; nonfiction; small press publishing
krooney4@depaul.edu

Francesca Royster
Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Renaissance literature; Shakespeare; cultural studies
froyster@depaul.edu

Eric Murphy Selinger
Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles
Poetry; twentieth-century American literature; Jewish literature
eselinge@depaul.edu

John Shanahan
Associate Professor and Director, Graduate Program in English
Ph.D., Rutgers University
Restoration and eighteenth-century English Literature; literature and science
jshanah1@depaul.edu

Craig Sirles
Associate Professor and Assistant Chair 
Ph.D., Northwestern University
History and structure of English; linguistics; stylistics; philology
csirles@depaul.edu

Gary Smith
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Stanford University
Modern American literature; African-American fiction and poetry
gsmith5@depaul.edu

Richard Squibbs
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Rutgers University
Eighteenth-century British and early American literature; transatlantic literary relations
rsquibbs@depaul.edu

Daniel Stolar
Associate Professor
M.F.A., University of Arizona
Creative writing; fiction; creative non-fiction
dstolar@depaul.edu

Mark Turcotte
Visiting Assistant Professor
M.F.A., Western Michigan University
Creative writing; Native American literature
mturcott@depaul.edu

Dave Welch
Instructor and Coordinator of Literacy Outreach and One Book, One Chicago
M.F.A., University of Alabama
Creative Writing; Poetry; Popular fiction
dwelch3@depaul.edu