Political Science

Full-time Faculty

Clement Adibe, Ph.D, Queen's University, Canada   
773-325-1981, cadibe@depaul.edu
African politics,  U.S. foreign policy in Africa, regional integration, United Nations peacekeeping
Vita

Molly Andolina, Ph.D., Georgetown University
773-325-4709, mandolin@depaul.edu
American government, campaigns & elections, political socialization and culture, public opinion
Vita

Kathleen Arnold, Ph.D., The University of California at Los Angeles
773-325-4736, karnol14@depaul.edu
Political theory and feminist theory
Vita

David Barnum, Ph.D., Stanford University
773-325-1972, dbarnum@depaul.edu
Faculty advisor for the Pre-law Association and Mock Trial Team; Pre-law Advisor.
Constitutional law, civil liberties, criminal justice, the Supreme Court
Vita

Larry Bennett, Ph.D., Rutgers University
773-325-1973, lbennett@depaul.edu
Urban politics and public policy, neighborhood research, American politics
Vita

James Block, Ph.D., The University of Chicago
773-325-1976, jblock@depaul.edu
Modern and classical political thought
Vita

Michael L. Budde, Ph.D., Northwestern University
773-325-1974, mbudde@depaul.edu
Chair, Department of Catholic Studies
Senior Research Scholar, Center for World Catholicism and Intercultural Theology
International relations, political economy, comparative politics, religion & politics, culture & politics 
Vita

return to top

Patrick Callahan, Ph.D., Ohio State University
773-325-7338, pcallaha@depaul.edu
International relations, American foreign policy, and ethics of war
Vita

Benjamin Epstein, Ph.D., City University of New York Graduate School
773-325-2282, bepstein@depaul.edu
American politics, political communication and media, research methodology
Vita

Richard Farkas, Ph.D., University of South Carolina
773-325-1977, dfarkas@depaul.edu
Faculty advisor for the DePaul chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha
Comparative politics (Russia, Eastern Europe), revolution and terrorism
Faculty Profile

Scott Hibbard, Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University
773-325-7542, shibbar1@depaul.edu
Politics of the Middle East, South Asia, religion & politics, American foreign policy, human rights
Faculty Profile

Kathryn Ibata-Arens, Ph.D., Northwestern University
773-325-4716, kibataar@depaul.edu
Director, Global Asian Studies Program
Political economy, international relations, Japan, technology policy
Faculty Profile 

Valerie C. Johnson, Ph.D., Government and Politics, University of Maryland
773-325-4731, vjohnso5@depaul.edu
Urban politics, African-American politics, urban education
Vita

return to top

Azza Salama Layton, Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
773-325-1987, alayton@depaul.edu
Public policy analysis, American politics, the Civil Rights Movement, race relationships
Vita

Catherine R. May, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin at Madison
773-325-4755, cmay1@depaul.edu
Political Science Internship Coordinator
American politics & institutions, political philosophy, mass media, political culture & socialization
Vita

Joseph F. Mello, Ph.D., University of Connecticut, Storrs
773-325-7384, jmello1@depaul.edu
Law and courts, constitutional law, American political development, American studies

Michael L. Mezey, Ph.D., Syracuse University
773-325-7318, mmezey@depaul.edu
American politics, Congress, the presidency
Vita

Christina R. Rivers, Ph.D., Cornell University
773-325-4593, crivers@depaul.edu
Pre-law Advisor
Race and representation in the United States, African-American political thought
Vita

Rose J. Spalding, Ph.D., University of North Carolina
773-325-1983, rspaldin@depaul.edu
Director, Honors Program
Comparative politics (Latin America), political economy, social welfare policy
Vita

Phillip Stalley, Ph.D., George Washington University
773-325-4179, pstalley@depaul.edu
Fulbright Scholarship Program Advisor
Chinese politics and foreign policy, environmental politics, international relations
Faculty Profile

Wayne P. Steger, Ph.D., University of Iowa
773-325-4240, wsteger@depaul.edu
Department Chair
American presidency, the U.S. legislative process, political parties & elections, research methods
Vita

Erik R. Tillman, Ph.D., Emory University
773-325-4131, etillman@depaul.edu
Faculty advisor for the Model United Nations Program
Comparative politics, West European politics, international relations
Faculty Profile

David Lay Williams, Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
773-325-4906, dwill105@depaul.edu
Pre-law Advisor
Political theory, democratic theory, political thought, liberal theory, constitutional law and theory
Faculty Profile

Harry Wray, Ph.D., University of North Carolina
hwray@depaul.edu
Professor Emeritus
Vita

return to top