Department of Religious Studies

Full-time Faculty

   James Halstead, O.S.A., Ph.D., S.T.D. Associate Professor & Chair

University of Louvain, Belgium
Ethics, Christian Theology
Office Hours: By Appointment
Office: LPC 2333 N. Racine, Ste 102
Phone: 773.325.7386
E-mail: jhalstea@depaul.edu

   U. Angelika Cedzich, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Julius-Maximilians-Universitat, Germany
Religions of China and Japan
Office Hours: By Appointment
Office: LPC 2327 N. Racine, Ste 201
Phone: 773.325.1291
E-mail: acedzich@depaul.edu

   Frida Kerner Furman, Ph.D.

Professor
University of Southern California
Social Ethics, Feminist Studies in Religion
Office Hours: By Appointment
Office: LPC 2333 N Racine, Ste 213
Phone: 773.325.4275
E-mail: ffurman@depaul.edu

   David L. Gitomer, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Director of MALS Program
Columbia University
Religions and Literatures of Pre-Modern India
Office Hours: LPC By Appointment
Office: LPC 2333 N Racine, Ste 105
Phone: 773.325.1282
E-mail: dgitomer@depaul.edu

   Scott Kelley, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor 
Loyola University 
Islamic Studies
Office Hours: By Appointment
Office: 55 E. Jackson 
Phone: 773.325.4466
E-mail: skelley6@depaul.edu
Selected Works

   Khaled Keshk, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
University of Chicago
Islamic Studies
Office Hours: By Appointment
Office: LPC 2333 N Racine, Ste. 210
Phone: 773.325.4466
E-mail: kkeshk@depaul.edu

   Aminah Beverly McCloud, Ph.D.

Professor
Temple University
Islamic Studies
Office Hours: By Appointment
Office: LPC 2327 N Racine, Ste. 104
Phone: 773.325.1290
E-mail: amccloud@depaul.edu

   Kalyani Menon, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Syracuse University
Religious Conflict, Gender and Nationalism, Religions and Cultures of Contemporary South Asia
Office Hours: By Appointment
Office: LPC 2333 N Racine, Ste. 202
Phone: 773.325.4998
E-mail: kmenon@depaul.edu

   Yuki Miyamoto, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Divinity School, University of Chicago
Comparative Ethics
Office Hours: By Appointment
Office: LPC 2333 N. Racine, Ste. 20
Phone: 773.325.4547
E-mail: ymiyamot@depaul.edu

   Christopher N. Mount, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
University of Chicago
Early Christianity
Office Hours: By Appointment
Office: LPC 2333 N Racine, Ste. 204
Phone: 773.325.1271
E-mail: cmount@depaul.edu

   Thomas O'Brien, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
University of St. Michael's College, University of Toronto
Catholic Social Thought
Office Hours: By Appointment
Office: LPC 2333 N Racine, Ste. 209
Phone: 773.325.1283
E-mail: tobrien8@depaul.edu

   Scott Paeth, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Princeton Theological Seminary
Business Ethics, Bioethics, Ethics of War and Peace
Office Hours: LPC
Office: LPC 2333 N Racine, Ste. 207
Phone: 773.325.4447
E-mail: spaeth@depaul.edu

   Lisa Poirier, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Syracuse University
Native American Religions, Religion and Colonialism, Theory and Method in the Study of Religion 
Office Hours: By Appointment
Office: LPC 2327 N Racine, Ste. 203
Phone: 773.325.7978
E-mail: lpoirier@depaul.edu

   Chernoh Sesay Jr., Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Northwestern University
African-American Christianity and Freemasonry, American Evangelicalism, and Early American History
Office Hours: By Appointment
Office: 2333 N. Racine, Ste. 106
Phone: 773.325.4489
E-mail: csesay@depaul.edu

   Alexei Sivertsev, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
New York University
Rabbinic Judaism
Office Hours: LPC By Appointment
Office: LPC 2333 N. Racine, Ste. 203
Phone: 773.325.4988
E-mail: asiverts@depaul.edu

   Naomi A. Steinberg, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Columbia University
Hebrew Bible, Women, Children and Family in Antiquity, The Bible in Contemporary Cinema
Office Hours: By Appointment
Office: LPC 2333 N Racine, Ste. 107
Phone: 773.325.1288
E-mail: nsteinbe@depaul.edu

   Charles R. Strain, Ph.D.

Professor
University of Chicago
Religion and Social Change: Liberation Theology & Socially Engaged Buddhism
Office Hours: By Appointment
Office: 2327 N Racine, Ste. 102
Phone: 773.325.7209
E-mail: cstrain@depaul.edu

   Chris Tirres, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Harvard University
Pragmatism, Liberation Theology, U.S. Latino/a Religion
Office Hours: By Appointment
Office: 2333 N. Racine, Ste. 205
Phone: 773.325.8645
E-mail: ctirres@depaul.edu

   David Wellman, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Union Theological Seminary
Religion and Diplomacy, Ecological Ethics, Business Ethics, and Muslim Conflict Resolution
Office Hours: By Appointment
Office: LPC 2333 N. Racine, Ste. 208
Phone: 773.325.4282
E-mail: dwellman@depaul.edu

 

Emeriti Faculty List

  • Paul F. Camenish, Ph.D.

  • John Dominic Crossan, S.T.D., S.S.L.

  • John T. Leahy, S.T.D., M.Ed.

  • Kay Read, Ph.D.

  • William VanderMarck, Ph.D.