DePaul University College of LAS > Academics > Political Science > Student Resources > Academic Advising

Academic Advising

Academic advisers can provide guidance and assistance to help students achieve their educational goals. Students should work closely with their advisers to: plan realistic educational goals, understand degree options and requirements, assess their strengths and areas for improvement, understand the financial aspects of their choices, and set realistic post-graduate objectives for themselves.

The academic adviser for political science students is Ms. Estela Barragan. Students can schedule appointments with her via the BlueStar system in Campus Connect. Or, they can send questions to her at pscadvising@depaul.edu. Ms. Barragan can help students with:

  • Degree progress and graduation requirements
  • Questions about transfer or Study Abroad course credit
  • University, college, and departmental policies and procedures
  • Questions about courses, academic majors and minors, university services, etc.

Faculty Advisers

In addition to the academic adviser, a faculty adviser is assigned to each student. The faculty adviser can help students with:

  • Course selection relating to a students career or personal interests
  • Preparing for graduate school, law school, or other career paths
  • Learning about research, publication, and conference opportunities

To find out who your faculty adviser is, log on to DePaul's Campus Connect and go to Self Service > Academic Planning > View My Advisers.  To make an appointment with your faculty adviser, please contact her/him directly.  A list of political science faculty members and their contact information is shown below.

How to prepare for your advising appointment

Review your Degree Progress Report (DPR) which outlines all of your current degree requirements.  If you are considering a change in major or minor, you can use the "what if" function in the DPR to see how your courses would fit into the new plan. If your appointment is about registration, become familiar with the course offerings for the upcoming quarter.  Think about your interests, skills, values, and career plans.  This can help you choose appropriate courses for your needs. Review the course descriptions and degree requirements.

Advising Resources

University Statement on Academic Advising
Academic Advising in the College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences

LAS Advising Office:

Full-time PSC Faculty

The Political Science offices are located at 990 W. Fullerton. 

Name of Faculty

Phone

Room

E-mail Address

Adibe, Clement

773-325-1981

2210

cadibe@depaul.edu

Andolina, Molly

773-325-4709

2101

mandolin@depaul.edu

Bennett, Larry

773-325-1973

2203

lbennett@depaul.edu

Block, Jim

773-325-1976

2218

jblock@depaul.edu

Epstein, Ben

773-325-2282

2107

bepstein@depaul.edu

Farkas, Dick

773-325-1977

2211

dfarkas@depaul.edu

Hibbard, Scott

773-325-7542

2105

shibbar1@depaul.edu

Ibata-Arens, Kathryn

773-325-4716

2209

kibataar@depaul.edu

Johnson, Valerie

773-325-4731

2201

vjohnso5@depaul.edu

Mello, Joe

773-325-7384

2207

jmello1@depaul.edu

Rivers, Christina

773-325-4593

2208

crivers@depaul.edu

Spalding, Rose

773-325-1983

2102

rspaldin@depaul.edu

Stalley, Phillip

773-325-4179

2206

pstalley@depaul.edu

Steger, Wayne

773-325-4240

2103

wsteger@depaul.edu

Tillman, Erik

773-325-4131

2204

etillman@depaul.edu

Williams, David

773-325-4906

2205

dwill105@depaul.edu