College of Liberal Arts & Social Sciences > Academics > Geography > About > Awards & Recognitions

Awards & Recognitions


2021 West Lakes-East Lakes AAG Divisional Conference 

AAG Council Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Presentation:

Jenni Nguyen - Chronic Illness & Energy Negotiation: Revisiting Cultural Ecology in Exploring New Avenues for Disabled Geographies

Undergraduate Research Paper Presentation:

First Place, Sammy Curley - Dog Parks and Gentrification on Chicago’s south side

Second Place, Jennifer Ovist - “Fantasy Landscapes”: Rural Cemeteries as Placemaking and Social Reform

Third Place, Luigi Cutolo - La città della Monnezza: The story of waste, mafias, politics, and environmental justice in Naples, Italy

DePaul Geography students awarded at 2020 West Lakes AAG Student Competition

AAG Council Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Student 
Michael Cullen: Skateboarding, Urban Public Space, and Identity

Undergraduate oral presentation 
Annalise Sedlacek: 3rd place: COVID-19 and Gentrification in New York City

Undergraduate poster​ 
Kevin Stock​: 2nd place:  Monitoring Nauset-Monomoy Barrier Islands and Sediment Processes along Chatham, Massachusetts using Remote Sensing Techniques​​

Evan Breedlove​: 3rd place:  Wealth Creation in Redlined Lincoln Park​

American Association of Geographers Award for Bachelors Program Excellence (2016)

The Department of Geography at DePaul University received the inaugural AAG Award for Program Excellence, which was established to recognize excellence in undergraduate geography programs at U.S. colleges and universities. This award honors non-PhD granting geography programs that have significantly enhanced the prominence and reputation of geography as a discipline, and demonstrated the characteristics of a strong and engaged academic unit.


AAG award



Cassie Follett (2020) GIS coordinator, received both the Suchar Innovation award for  her GIS work in the Dominican Republic as well as the Staff Recognition Award. The Suchar Innovation Award is given to individuals who lead staff projects that support innovation and development. The project, which was put forth in support of Howard Rosing’s Dominican Republic study abroad trip, taught DePaul students GIS so that when they traveled to the mountainous region of the Dominican Republic, they were then able to train others in GIS. In turn, the students learned about agriculture. 

Nandhini Gulasingam (2020) Spirit of DePaul Award. The award also seeks to personally honor and recognize diverse members of the DePaul Community for their leadership and service in the spirit of Saint Vincent de Paul.

Max Samson (2020) DePaul Liberal Arts and Sciences Excellence in Teaching Award for Contingent Faculty.

Alex Papadopoulos (2019) The AAG Harm J. de Blij Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Geography Teaching

Euan Hague (2019) The Barbara A. Holland Scholar-Administrator Award. The award that recognizes the growing need for research-informed leadership in higher education.