College of Liberal Arts & Social Sciences > Academics > Philosophy > About

About the Department of Philosophy

​Primarily located on the Lincoln Park Campus, DePaul’​s Department of Philosophy is home to nearly 100 undergraduate majors, 45 graduate students, 16 faculty members, and an administrative assistant. Recognized internationally for our innovative approach to studying the European philosophical tradition and placing that tradition in relation to its critics and others, our faculty emphasize the close study of primary texts, with a sensitivity to historical context and proficiency in original languages.

Our aim is always, in every course we teach and in every event we organize as a department, to promote fundamental questioning and thinking. We are committed to the notion that, whether our students go on to become professors of philosophy or lawyers, marketers or city planners, politicians or farmers, they will be better and more effective in their chosen fields, and indeed better human beings, if they are well practiced in the art of posing the most fundamental questions and thinking about the deepest and most complex of issues.

Why Study Philosophy?

A degree in Philosophy expands your perspective and prepares you with the skills necessary for any career path you choose.
Learn More »

Woman seated and reading a book

Undergraduate Major & Minors

Our undergraduate program of study ensures that every student is familiar with the trajectory of the European tradition, from the birth of philosophia among the ancient Greeks to the latest theories of twentieth and twenty-first century figures.

Learn More
Philosophy graduate programs

Graduate Program

Our program is one of the country’s elite graduate programs in the area of continental philosophy. Our doctoral graduates are well-prepared to enter the profession of academic philosophy, as researchers and educators of the highest caliber.

Learn More

Our faculty are dedicated to our students’ academic success and strive to provide a friendly learning environment, individual academic advising, and engaging intellectual challenges.